Image Alt


Who Is the Present Law Commission Chairman

On 10 June 2016, Mr. Satya Pal Jain, Deputy Attorney General of India, was appointed as a part-time member of the Commission. [21] Justice Minister Kiren Rijiju announced on Twitter the appointment of retired Chief Justice Rituraj Awasthi as chair of the commission. He is a former BBC legal correspondent and has also written for the Daily Telegraph and the Guardian. The Law Commission of India is a now-defunct executive body established by order of the Government of India. The commission is charged with investigating and advising the Indian government on legal reform, is composed of legal experts and is headed by a retired judge. The Commission is established for a limited term and acts as an advisory body to the Ministry of Law and Justice. The last President of the Commission retired in August 2018 and has not been reconstituted since. The President promotes the role and work of the Legal Affairs Committee and is its most important public face. It leads the Commissioners and represents their views to ministers and other stakeholders. The President also leads certain legislative reform projects, including overseeing the work of the Commission on the Consolidation and Repeal of the Act. The IPC was conceived in 1860 based on the recommendations of the First Law Commission. The draft was prepared by the Commission under the chairmanship of Lord Macaulay.

The chairman of the 21st Judicial Commission was Justice Balbir Singh Chauhan. Some of the other reports presented by the commission dealt with various topics such as human DNA profiling, hate speech, contempt of court review, mandatory marriage registration, BCCI, sports betting, etc. Legal commissions in India have origins prior to independence. The first Law Commission was formed in 1834 following the Charter Act of 1833 under the chairmanship of TB Macaulay. The Law Commission of India, although an ad hoc body, plays a key role in India`s legislative reform. [24] Their role was both advisory and critical of government policy. [ref. needed] The Supreme Court of India and academia have recognized the Commission`s innovative and forward-looking approach. [ref. needed] In a number of decisions, the Supreme Court has referred to the work of the Commission and followed its recommendations. [ref. needed] The fact that the President of the Commission is generally a retired judge of the Supreme Court has contributed to the Commission`s reputation.

[ref. needed] The Sixteenth Law Commission was established in 2000. Until 2001, Justice B. P. Jeevan Reddy remained Chairman of the Commission, while the Commission worked between 2002 and 2003 under the chairmanship of Justice Jagannadha Rao. [10] It submitted the following reports: [16] According to the Commission`s website, the Commission`s permanent staff consists of a dozen researchers of different grades and experience, with a small group of Secretariat staff dealing with the administrative aspect of the Commission`s work,[23] and the internal functioning of the Commission can be described as a process involving the following steps: The first Legal Commission of independent India was established in 1955. The Chairman of the Commission was Mr. M. C.

Setalvad, who was also the first Attorney General of India. The mandate of this Commission was set at three years (which has been contractually respected to date) and this Commission submitted its last report on 16 September 1958. The reports submitted by the First Law Commission of India are as follows: [9] In addition to the Ministry of Justice, the Supreme Court has also asked the Commission to deal with specific issues and present its views on various occasions. The most recent concerns the Commission`s 205th report, prepared in response to the Supreme Court`s request for assistance in determining “certain legal issues relating to child marriage and the different ages at which a person is defined as a child in different laws”. The report sparked a public debate in India because, among other things, it recommended lowering the age of marriage for boys to the level of girls to 18, instead of the long-standing 21 and 18 respectively. The 21st Legal Commission stated in its 2018 recommendation that the Uniform Civil Code (UCC) was “neither necessary nor desirable at this stage.” The first legal commission was established during colonial rule in India by the East India Company under the Charter Act 1833 under the chairmanship of Lord Macaulay. After that, three more commissions were established in pre-independent India. The first Legal Commission of independent India was established in 1955 for a three-year term. Since then, twenty-one other commissions have been established. The last chairman of the Judicial Commission was retired Supreme Court Justice B.S. Chauhan, who completed his term on August 31, 2018.

Subsequently, the Commission was not reconstituted. In February 2020, the Indian government announced its intention to reconstitute the Commission, and the Supreme Court of India is currently considering a petition challenging the delay in the appointment of members of the 22nd Legal Commission. [1] The Law Commission works in close coordination and under the general direction of the Ministry of Law and Justice. It usually serves as an initiation point for legal reform in the country. Internally, the Committee on Legal Affairs works in a research-oriented manner. The Commission employs a number of research analysts (and even law students from 2007[22]) and works on the assigned agenda, producing mainly research-based reports that are often conclusive and include recommendations. The permanent members of the Commission are usually responsible for determining the exact subject matter and the reference on which to work, and often call upon the services of reputable legal experts and lawyers who are familiar with the subject under consideration. These experts may either work part-time with the Commission or have been invited to contribute to specific reports or issues to be examined. One of the most important issues before the Legal Affairs Committee is the call for an amendment to the Indian Penal Code in response to allegations of abuse and arbitrary application of the law. The Ministry of Justice had requested the Commission to investigate the implementation of the provisions of section 124A (sedition) of the Penal Code. The first of these commissions, established in 1834 by the Charter Act 1833 and chaired by Lord Macaulay, recommended the codification of the Penal Code and the Code of Criminal Procedure.

Subsequently, in 1853, 1861 and 1879, the Second, Third and Fourth Legal Commissions were established, which contributed to enriching the collection of Indian laws over a period of fifty years. The Second Legal Commission was established in 1958 under the chairmanship of Judge T. V. Venkatarama Aiyar. She remained in office until 1961. [10] It submitted the following reports: [11] The eighteenth Law Commission of India was established on 1 September 2006 and existed until 31 August 2009. Judge Jagannadha Rao remained Chairman of the Commission until 28 May 2007.